Your question: What is the superior boundary of the spinal cord?

What are the superior and inferior boundaries of the spinal cord?

What are the superior and inferior boundaries of the spinal dura mater? magnum of the occipital bone. The inferior boundary is the second sacral vertebra. … A horn is an area of gray matter, and a column is a region of white matter in the spinal cord.

What are the boundaries of the spinal cord?


  • anterior: vertebral bodies, intervertebral discs, posterior longitudinal ligament.
  • posterior: ligamentum flavum lining the laminae.
  • lateral: vertebral pedicles 1

What is the superior boundary?

The Superior Boundary Zone (SBZ) forms the northwestern margin of the Archean Superior craton and constitutes a tectonic foreland of the ∼1.8 Ga Trans-Hudson Orogen. The Superior Boundary Fault (SBF) separates the SBZ from the adjacent Reindeer Zone, a collage of Paleoproterozoic juvenile intraoceanic rocks.

What is the superior end of the spinal cord called?

The spinal cord proper terminates in a region called the conus medullaris, while the pia mater continues as an extension called the filum terminale, which anchors the spinal cord to the coccyx.

What are two functions of spinal cord?

The main functions of the spinal cord are:

  • To conduct reflexes below the neck.
  • To conduct messages from the skin and muscles to the brain.
  • To conduct commands from the brain to muscles of the trunk and limbs.
IT IS AMAZING:  Does massage help spine pain?

What happens if your spinal cord hurts?

Emergency signs and symptoms of a spinal cord injury after an accident include: Extreme back pain or pressure in your neck, head or back. Weakness, incoordination or paralysis in any part of your body. Numbness, tingling or loss of sensation in your hands, fingers, feet or toes.

How many pairs of spinal nerves do humans have?

In total, there are 31 pairs of spinal nerves, grouped regionally by spinal region. More specifically, there are eight cervical nerve pairs (C1-C8), twelve thoracic nerve pairs (T1-T12), five lumbar nerve pairs (L1-L5), and a single coccygeal nerve pair.

How can you distinguish between the dorsal and ventral horns?

The dorsal horns are the thinner projections of dark matter that jut out from the rest towards the dorsal/back side of the spinal cord. The ventral horns are the wider projections of dark matter towards the ventral/front side of the spinal cord.

What is spinal cord terminus?

The terminal portion of the spinal cord in the lumbar region is cone-shaped and is called the conus medullaris. The conus medullaris is made up of several neurons (nerve cells) and has 3 protective layers. Starting from the outermost layer, these are the dura mater, arachnoid mater, and pia mater.