What is the function of the 31 pairs of spinal nerves?

What are the 31 segments of the spinal cord?

The spinal cord divides into 31 segments: cervical 8, thoracic 12, lumbar 5, sacral 5, and coccygeal 1. These segments consist of 31 pairs of spinal nerves with their respective spinal root ganglia. Spinal nerves contain the motor, sensory, and autonomic fibers. These nerves exit through the intervertebral foramen.

What are pairs of our spinal nerves do for us?

There are 31 pairs of spinal nerves, and they control sensory, motor, and other functions of your body. They transmit messages between your spinal cord and the rest of the body, including skin, muscles, and internal organs. Each spinal nerve is responsible for providing sensation to a different area of your body.

Which spinal nerves affect which parts of the body?

The nerves of the cervical spine go to the upper chest and arms. The nerves in your thoracic spine go to your chest and abdomen. The nerves of the lumbar spine then reach to your legs, bowel, and bladder. These nerves coordinate and control all the body’s organs and parts, and let you control your muscles.

What is the function of spinal nerves?

Structure and Function

Spinal nerves are mixed nerves that interact directly with the spinal cord to modulate motor and sensory information from the body’s periphery. Each nerve forms from nerve fibers, known as fila radiculara, extending from the posterior (dorsal) and anterior (ventral) roots of the spinal cord.

IT IS AMAZING:  How do you remove a toenail that is coming off?

What is cord syndrome?

Central cord syndrome (CCS) is an incomplete traumatic injury to the cervical spinal cord – the portion of the spinal cord that runs through the bones of the neck. This injury results in weakness in the arms more so than the legs.